2011 - 2012 Recipients

We are thrilled to be distributing part of the interest from the Fund back to the cultural community that has worked so hard to make the ARTicipate a success! Thank you to all who have applied to the program.

We are pleased to announce the following 2011 ARTicipate grant recipients:

 

  • Asif Rehman "Muslims?!"
  • Dr. L’s Music and the Counterpoint Players "Olympus the Musical"
  • Gharana Arts "Gharana Arts Festival"
  • Kasturi Mishra "DashAVATAR"
  • Bytown Beat Chorus "Rodeo Queen"
  • Tara Luz Danse "En studio avec nous"
  • Le Théâtre du Village "Les murs de nos villages"
  • Vintage Stock Theatre "Meeting Mr. Bennett"
  • Gloucester Community Concert Band "Christmas Showcase & Spring Showcase"
  • Rag & Bone Puppet Theatre "The Story of Holly & Ivy"
  • Étienne Owana "Gumboots Dance Project"

 

Muslims?!, a photography exhibition of works by Asif Rehman, was held in the Trinity Art Gallery last July. Through his photography, Rehman seeks to illustrate that any label can at best only define a small part of a person’s identity. His exhibition sought to break down stereotypes held by both Muslims and non-Muslims about what it means to be a Canadian Muslim.

 

 

Olympus the Musical was presented as a workshop in the Richcraft Theatre on August 28, 2011 by Dr. L’s Music and the Counterpoint Players. The focus of the performance was to combine well-known Greek myths and, through a journey into the realm of the living and the land of the dead, explore the grief that links people.

The two-day Gharana Arts Festival, the first of its kind in Canada, will showcase all facets of Indian cultural tradition; celebrating its dance, music, visual art, film and literature. The Festival will take place in both Shenkman Art Centre’s theatres in June 2012 and will feature  professional artists from both Ottawa and across Canada.



Kasturi Mishra will present DashAVATAR as part of the Gharana Arts Festival. Based on the mythic representations of Lord Vishnu in Hindu mythology, the performance will offer the 10 different stories in a modern Kathak context. Twenty dancers and musicians will be involved and seek to bridge the gap between myth and science by looking at the evolution of Man through an artistic lens.

 

Bytown Beat Chorus will bring some Western rodeo flavour to the Harold Shenkman Hall with their November 5, 2011 production of Rodeo Queen. The play is an original romantic comedy written by two members of the chorus and tells the story of a girl who is in love with the rodeo. Her story is told through song lyrics, strung together through narration.



Tara Luz Danse will present a new participatory series, En studio avec nous, in The Ottawa Citizen Dance Studio. The first of two interactive dance performances, entitled Impro en mouvement, will be held on December 11, 2011 and will showcase the dance company’s various activities. The second workshop, Les billes processus de création tout public, will be held February 24, 2012.

Le Théâtre du Village will take to the Richcraft Theatre stage from November 24 to 27, 2011. To celebrate its 26 years in existence, the theatre company will reprise its very first play, Les murs de nos villages, presenting it for the first time as a musical. The play takes a humorous look at village residents through glimpses of their private lives in their homes, through conversations and in their relationships with each other.



Vintage Stock Theatre’s December 8 to 11, 2011 production of Meeting Mr. Bennett in the Richcraft Theatre looks at the Depression years through the eyes of a nonagenarian who in her youth wrote a letter to Prime Minister Bennett asking for help; a young girl who finds the long forgotten reply in an old house recently bought by her father; and finally through eyes of Prime Minister Bennett himself.



The Gloucester Community Concert Band will present two bilingual concerts in the Harold Shenkman Hall: a Christmas Showcase on December 11, 2011 and a Spring Showcase on April 15, 2012. The aim of both concerts is to highlight the musicality and talent of the band, while at the same time providing affordable, high quality musical performances.



Rag & Bone Puppet Theatre will present The Story of Holly & Ivy from December 16 to 18, 2011 in the Richcraft Theatre. Based on a book by Rumer Godden, the production will feature puppets, theatre, live music and local school choirs in a heart-warming family story about an orphan girl, a Christmas doll and a childless couple on Christmas Eve.

 

 

 

The Gumboots Dance Project, led by Étienne Owana, will feature students from various Ottawa-Gatineau high schools to perform at the next edition of the Afroculture Festival, which will take place in both the upper and lower lobbies of the Shenkman Arts Centre in March 2012.

Related Info

Spark Creative Diversity

The more it grows, the more it gives

  • 2011 ARTicipate grant recipient: Bytown Beat Chorus' Rodeo Queen, Harold Shenkman Hall.

Récipiendaires 2011 - 2012

Nous sommes heureux de pouvoir redistribuer un certain pourcentage de l’intérêt généré par le Fonds à la communauté culturelle, qui a travaillé sans relâche au succès d’ARTicipez!  Un grand merci à tous ceux d’entre vous qui avez présenté une demande.

Nous sommes heureux d’annoncer les récipiendaires 2011 suivants de la subvention ARTicipez :

 

  • Asif Rehman «Muslims?!»
  • Dr. L’s Music et Counterpoint Players «Olympus the Musical»
  • Gharana Arts «Festival Gharana Arts»
  • Kasturi Mishra «DashAVATAR»
  • Bytown Beat Chorus «Rodeo Queen»
  • Tara Luz Danse «En studio avec nous»
  • Le Théâtre du Village «Les murs de nos villages»
  • Vintage Stock Theatre «Meeting Mr. Bennett»
  • L’Orchestre communautaire de Gloucester «une Vitrine de Noël & une Vitrine du printemps»
  • Rag & Bone Puppet Theatre «The Story of Holly & Ivy»
  • Étienne Owana «Projet de Danse Gumboots»

 

 

Muslims?!, une exposition photo de l’œuvre d’Asif Rehman, a eu lieu à la Galerie d’art Trinity en juillet dernier. Par sa photographie, Rehman cherche à montrer que n’importe quelle étiquette ne peut définir - dans le meilleur des cas - qu’une infime partie de l’identité d’une personne. Son exposition vise à briser les stéréotypes qui circulent, chez les musulmans et les non-musulmans, à propos de ce que signifie être un Canadien musulman.

 

Olympus the Musical a été présenté dans le cadre d’un atelier au Théâtre Richcraft, le 28 août 2011 par Dr. L’s Music et les Counterpoint Players. Le point central de la représentation était de mélanger des mythes grecs bien connus, et à travers un voyage au royaume des vivants et au pays des morts, explorer le chagrin qui unit les gens.

Le Gharana Arts Festival, le premier de son genre au Canada, montrera toutes les facettes de la tradition culturelle indienne, en célébrant sa danse, sa musique, ses arts visuels, son cinéma et sa littérature. Le Festival aura lieu dans les deux théâtres du Centre des arts Shenkman, juin 2012, et présentera des artistes professionnels de la région d’Ottawa et d’ailleurs au Canada.

Kasturi Mishra présentera DashAVATAR dans le cadre du Gharana Arts Festival. Basé sur les représentations mythiques du dieu Vishnou dans la mythologie hindoue, le spectacle offrira les 10 histoires différentes dans une version moderne du Kathak. Vingt danseurs et musiciens seront du nombre, cherchant à combler l’écart entre le mythe et la science, en observant l’évolution de l’Homme sous un angle artistique.

 

Bytown Beat Chorus apportera une saveur de rodéo Western à la Salle Harold-Shenkman avec leur production de Rodeo Queen, le 5 novembre 2011. La pièce est une comédie romantique originale écrite par deux membres du choeur et raconte l’histoire d’une fille qui est amoureuse du rodéo. Les paroles des chansons qui s’enchaînent à travers la narration racontent son histoire.

Tara Luz Danse présentera une nouvelle série participative, En studio avec nous, au Studio de danse Ottawa Citizen. La première des deux prestations en danse, intitulée Impro en mouvement, aura lieu le 11 décembre 2011 et montrera les diverses activités de la compagnie de danse. Le second atelier, Les billes, processus de création tout public, se tiendra le 24 février 2012.

Le Théâtre du Village montera sur les planches du Théâtre Richcraft entre le 24 et le 27 novembre 2011. Pour célébrer son 26e anniversaire, la compagnie théâtrale fera une reprise de sa toute première pièce, Les murs de nos villages, en la présentant pour la première fois en tant que comédie musicale. La pièce jette un regard humoristique sur les résidents d’un village à travers des moments fugaces de leurs vies privées à la maison, les conversations et les relations qu’ils ont entre eux.

La production Meeting Mr. Bennett par Vintage Stock Theatre, du 8 au 11 décembre 2011 au Théâtre Richcraft, s’intéresse aux années de la Grande Dépression à travers les yeux d’une nonagénaire qui, dans sa jeunesse, a écrit une lettre au premier ministre Bennett pour lui demander de l’aide; ceux d’une jeune fille qui trouve la réponse oubliée depuis longtemps dans une vieille maison récemment achetée par son père; et finalement à travers les yeux du premier ministre Bennett lui-même.

L’Orchestre communautaire de Gloucester donnera deux concerts bilingues à la Salle Harold-Shenkman: une Vitrine de Noël, le 11 décembre 2011 et une Vitrine du printemps, le 15 avril 2012. Le but des deux concerts est de mettre en relief la musicalité et le talent du groupe, tout en offrant des spectacles musicaux de haut calibre à prix abordable.


Rag & Bone Puppet Theatre jouera The Story of Holly and Ivy du 16 au 18 décembre 2011 au Théâtre Richcraft. La production, adaptée d’un livre de Rumer Godden, présentera des marionnettes, du théâtre, de la musique en direct et des chorales d’écoles locales dans une histoire familiale réconfortante à propos d’une orpheline, d’une poupée de Noël et d’un couple sans enfant la veille de Noël.

 

 

Le projet de danse Gumboots, mené par Étienne Owana, présentera des étudiants de diverses écoles secondaires de la région d’Ottawa-Gatineau, qui se produiront à la prochaine édition du Festival Afroculture. Le spectacle se tiendra simultanément au Foyer supérieur et au Foyer inférieur du Centre des arts Shenkman en mars 2012.

 

Informations pertinentes

Favorisez la diversité creative

Un fonds en santé, c’est un fonds qui porte fruit!

  • Récipiendaires de subventions ARTicipez 2011 : Bytown Beat Chorsu dans la production Rodeo Queen  au Salle Harold-Shenkman.