2010 - 2011Recipients

The first ARTicipate Grant program funding cycle was launched in summer of 2010 . We are thrilled to be distributing part of the interest from the Fund back to the cultural community that has worked so hard to make the ARTicipate a success! Thank you to all who have applied to the program.

We are pleased to announce the following 2010 ARTicipate grant recipients:

 

One local artist received a grant of $1,000:

Ottawa artist Alanna Baird received the ARTicipate Endowment Fund’s first grant cheque. The grant was used to provide equipment to animate her sculpture exhibit, Metamorphish 2010 – A Year of Evolution at the Centre.

 

 

Seven local arts organizations have each received grants of $2,000. They are:

Visual art collective Blink Gallery for their group show, Threaded: Homage to Louise Bourgeois. Eight artists will create diptychs that reflect the connecting threads between their works with those of Louise Bourgeois.

 

 

 

Digi60 Film Festival for their 2010 Festival that challenged Ottawa-area filmmakers to write and shoot a short digital film in 30 days. The ARTicipate grant was a catalyst for partnerships between Digi60 and other arts organizations.

 

 

Gharana Arts for their production of Ekalavya, a mythical story about a warrior’s devotion, love and sacrifice. This story is seen by the company as metaphor for the challenges faced by many multicultural artists who practise traditional arts in North America, far from their teachers and culture. The grant was to enhance the production and bring award-winning dancers to the performance.

 

 

 

 

Ottawa Theatre School to bring their production of Under Milk Wood by Dylan Thomas to the Shenkman Arts Centre, providing third-year students with the educational and essential experience of participating in a professional production and exposing audiences to new and emerging theatre talent in Ottawa. 

 

 

 

Propeller Dance for their self-produced largest production of the year, Cross Over, at the Shenkman Arts Centre. Cross Over will speak to the beauty and power of the body in all its diversity. Propeller Dance is Ottawa’s contemporary dance organization integrating dancers with and without disability.

 

 

 

Suzuki Music Chamber and Ensembles Concert 2011 will feature Suzuki Music’s senior students performing a variety of selected chamber music masterworks, in the classical repertoire, on various instrument ensembles and combinations in a professional venue.

 

 

Vintage Stock Theatre used their grant to hire a number of professional cast and crew members to work with the community theatre company in their presentation of A Dickens of a Christmas in the Shenkman Art Centre’s Richcraft Theatre.

 

 

Related Info

Spark Creative Diversity

The more it grows, the more it gives

  • 2010 ARTicipate grant recipient: Kasturi Mishra in Gharana Arts' Ekalavya, Harold Shenkman Hall.

 

Check out the list of Grant Recipients!

Récipiendaires 2010 - 2011

Le premier cycle de financement du programme de subventions de projet ARTicipez a été lancé à l’été 2010. Nous sommes heureux de pouvoir redistribuer un certain pourcentage de l’intérêt généré par le Fonds à la communauté culturelle, qui a travaillé sans relâche au succès d’ARTicipez!  Un grand merci à tous ceux d’entre vous qui avez présenté une demande.

Nous sommes heureux d’annoncer les récipiendaires 2010 suivants de la subvention ARTicipez :

Une artiste de la région reçoit une subvention de 1 000 $ :

Alanna Baird, artiste de la région d’Ottawa, s’est vu remettre le tout premier chèque du fonds de dotation ARTicipez. La subvention lui a permis d’acheter l’équipement nécessaire à son exposition de sculpture Metamorphish 2010 – a year of evolution, qui a eu lieu au Centre des Arts Shenkman.

 

Sept organismes artistiques de la région ont chacun reçu 2 000 $. Ils sont :

Le collectif d’arts visuels Blink Gallery, pour son exposition de groupe Threaded: Homage to Louise Bourgeois. Huit artistes créeront des dyptiques qui représenteront le fil conducteur entre leur oeuvre et celle de Louise Bourgeois.

 

 

 

Le Festival de Film Digi60 pour son Festival de 2010, qui a lancé le défi suivant aux cineastes d’Ottawa : écrire et tourner un court métrage numérique en 30 jours. La subvention du Fonds de dotation ARTicipez a servi de catalyseur pour les partenariats entre Digi60 et d’autres organismes artistiques.

 

Gharana Arts, pour sa production d’Ekalavya, un récit mythique qui traite de la dévotion, de l’amour et du sacrifice d’un guerrier. Pour l’équipe de Gharana Arts, cette histoire est une métaphore qui illustre les difficultés que doivent surmonter plusieurs artistes multiculturels qui pratiquent un art traditionnel en Amérique du Nord, loin de leurs maîtres et de leur culture. La subvention a servi à améliorer la production et à la production et à inviter des danseurs reconnues à se joindre au spectacle.

 

L’Ottawa Theatre School, pour la production d’Under Milk Wood, du dramaturge Dylan Thomas, présentée au Centre des Arts Shenkman. Des étudiants de troisième année ont vécu une experience éducative et marquante en participant à une production professionnelle qui a permis au public de découvrir de nouveaux talents dans le milieu théâtral à Ottawa.

 

Propeller Dance, pour la production autonome la plus importante de l’année, Cross Over, présentée au Centre des Arts Shenkman. Cross Over fait appel à la beauté et à la force du corps dans toute sa diversité. Propeller Dance est une troupe de danse contemporaine de la région d’Ottawa qui intègre des danseurs ayant ou non un handicap.

 

Le concert Suzuki Music Chamber and Ensembles 2011 mettra en vedette des musiciens de niveau avancé de l’École Suzuki Music qui interpréteront une variété de chefs d’oeuvre de musique de chambre du répertoire classique en divers ensembles et combinaisons d’instruments, dans un lieu de présentation professionnel.

 

 

Vintage Stock TheatreLe Vintage Stock Theatre à utilisé la subvention pour embaucher des interprètes professionnels et du personnel pour préparer cette troupe de théâtre communautaire à présenter la pièce A Dickens of a Christmas au théâtre Richcraft du Centre des Arts Shenkman.

Informations pertinentes

Favorisez la diversité creative

Un fonds en santé, c’est un fonds qui porte fruit!

  • Récipiendaires de subventions ARTicipez 2010 : Kasturi Mishra dans la production Ekalavya de Gharana Arts au Salle Harold-Shenkman

 

Jetez un coup d’œil sur la liste des bénéficiaires de subventions!