Donor Testimonials

There has been a wide range of donors, from all walks of life. Their efforts have helped make the Endowment Fund a success.




The Trinity Art Gallery in the Shenkman Arts Centre“The Trinity Foundation was proud to support the ARTicipate Endowment Fund through our initial donation that resulted in the naming of Trinity Art Gallery. The Shenkman Arts Centre is fast becoming a true community gathering place for a broad variety of arts-themed activities. As a donor, you not only want to help start something great, you also want to provide that initiative with continued support.” Mariette MacIsaac, Administrator, Trinity Foundation



Long-time arts supporter, Sheila Watts, as she struggled with a terminal illness, chose the ARTicipate Endowment Fund to be one of the benefactors of her In Memorial donations. Her kind and selfless gesture raised over $1,100.

“I donated in memory of my Mom, who loved music and dance. I am a visual artist myself and I believe artistic venues of all kinds add joy to the lives of many. Without places like the Shenkman Arts Centre there would be a little less joy in our lives. With so many funding pressures on governments at all levels these days, I think we all need to do our part to keep the arts and the joy alive.” Doreen Dyet, Visual Artist, Friend of the Shenkman Arts Centre

Mme Thérèse St-Jean made a donation in memory of her daughter, Élizabeth St-Jean Savoie.


AOE individual and group members, many of whom do not have great financial resources, gave to the campaign because they believe in what we are doing for the community and the Centre.

Members of the Community look for their name on the ARTicipate Donor Wall

“When you donate to the arts, in a way, you're giving to yourself. The entire community benefits from the presence of the Shenkman Arts Centre, and they're not just the obvious economic benefits of raised property values because the area becomes more desirable to live in. I believe the benefits are deeper and more profound, because the arts enliven us, enrich us, provoke, prod and delight us, and sustain and nourish us in countless ways. Having the Shenkman Arts Centre here in Orléans has already raised the energy of our community to a more playful, vibrant and joyful level and I'm thrilled to do my small part to help.”  Rachna Gilmore, Author, Friend of the Shenkman Arts Centre

Many parents donated on behalf of a child, a son or daughter who loves the arts and takes classes at the Centre in drama, visual arts or pottery.  




Jeff Stellick at the Orléans Campus of the Ottawa School of Art at the Shenkman Arts Centre

“The Ottawa School of Art strongly supports the ARTicipate campaign because it is a great vehicle for supporting arts and culture in Orléans. The ARTicipate campaign will provide funds for the immediate operational needs of the partners at the Shenkman Arts Centre and will provide a stable source of revenue supporting the long-term development of arts and culture in Orléans and at the Shenkman Arts Centre. It’s the solid base on which current activities are being established and from which future activities and plans can grow. It’s a great means by which people can contribute to the nurturing of culture in their community and the donations people make will continue to have an impact for many years to come. OSA strongly supports the campaign and encourages everyone to contribute to it.” Jeff Stellick, Executive Director, Ottawa School of Art  


Submit your own testimonial, email us. Tell us why you donated to the ARTicipate Endowment Fund and why the arts are important to you.

Related Info

Invest in your Creative Community

The more it grows, the more it gives

Donors to the ARTicipate Fund have helped to make a difference in their community


Margaret Mead's words encapsulate the spirit of our collective accomplishment, "Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world: indeed, it's the only thing that ever has."

Témoignages des donateurs

Des donateurs de tous les milieux de la société se sont manifestés. Leurs dons ont contribué au succès du Fonds de dotation.

 

 

DONATEURS MAJEURS

La galerie d’art Trinity du Centre des Arts Shenkman

« La Fondation Trinity appuie fièrement le Fonds de dotation ARTicipez par son premier don en reconnaissance duquel on a donné le nom de la Fondation une salle du Centre des arts (galerie d’art Trinity).

Le Centre des Arts Shenkman devient rapidement un véritable lieu de rassemblement communautaire pour une grande variété d’activités artistiques. À titre de donateur, nous voulons non seulement participer au lancement d’un grand projet, mais aussi lui assurer un soutien durable. » Mariette MacIsaac, administratrice, Fondation Trinity

 

DONATEURS À TITRE COMMÉMORATIF

Amie des arts depuis longtemps, Sheila Watts était affectée d’une maladie terminale, et elle a nommé le Fonds de dotation ARTicipez comme bénéficiaire de dons à titre commémoratif. Son geste attentionné et désintéressé a permis de recueillir plus de 1 100 $.

« J’ai fait un don en souvenir de ma mère qui était férue de musique et de danse. Étant moi-même une artiste visuelle, je crois que les installations artistiques de toutes sortes apportent de la joie dans la vie de plusieurs. Vu les nombreuses contraintes financières auxquelles sont exposés les gouvernements de nos jours à tous les niveaux, je crois qu’il appartient à tous de contribuer au soutien des arts et de communiquer la joie qu’ils nous procurent. » Doreen Dyet, artiste visuelle, Amie du Centre des Arts Shenkman

Mme Thérèse St-Jean a fait un don en mémoire de sa fille, Élizabeth St-Jean Savoie.


MEMBRES DE LA COMMUNAUTÉ

Des membres et des groupes d’AOE, beaucoup d’entre eux ne jouissant pas d’importantes ressources financières, ont contribué à la campagne parce qu’ils croient en ce qu’ils font pour la communauté et pour le Centre.

Membres de la communauté cherchant leur nom sur le mur de donateurs ARTicipez

« Quand vous faites un don pour les arts, d’une certaine façon, c’est aussi à vous que vous donnez. La communauté tout entière tire avantage de la présence du Centre des Arts Shenkman, et il ne s’agit pas des seuls avantages économiques évidents qu’entraîne la hausse de la valeur des propriétés du fait que le secteur devient un milieu de vie plus attrayant. Je crois que les avantages sont beaucoup plus profonds parce que les arts vivifient la communauté, l’enrichissent, la mettent au défi, la poussent à avancer, lui procurent du plaisir, la soutiennent et l’alimentent d’innombrables façons. La présence du Centre des Arts Shenkman ici même à Orléans a déjà libéré dans notre communauté une énergie ludique, vibrante et joyeuse et c’est avec grand plaisir que j’ai apporté ma modeste contribution. » Rachna Gilmore, auteure, Amie du Centre des Arts Shenkman

De nombreux parents ont fait un don au nom d’un de leurs enfants, un fils ou une fille qui aime les arts et suit des cours de théâtre, d’arts visuels ou de poterie au Centre.

 

PARTENAIRES ARTISTIQUES RÉSIDENTS

 

Jeff Stellick au Campus Orléans de l’École d’art d’Ottawa au Centre des Arts Shenkman

« L’École d’art d’Ottawa appuie sans réserve la campagne ARTicipez parce qu’elle constitue un excellent véhicule pour appuyer les arts et la culture à Orléans. La campagne ARTicipez permettra d’obtenir les fonds nécessaires pour répondre aux besoins opérationnels immédiats des partenaires du Centre des Arts Shenkman.

De plus, elle assurera une source de revenus stable pour appuyer à long terme le développement des arts et de la culture à Orléans et au Centre des Arts Shenkman. Il s’agit du fondement solide sur lequel s’appuient les activités en cours et à partir duquel il sera possible d’élaborer les activités et les plans d’avenir. Cette campagne constitue pour les gens un excellent moyen de faire leur part pour encourager la culture dans leur communauté, et les dons qu’ils versent aujourd’hui auront une incidence pendant de nombreuses années encore. L’École d’art d’Ottawa appuie résolument la campagne et encourage chacun à y contribuer. » Jeff Stellick, Directeur général, L’École d’art d’Ottawa


Présentez votre propre témoignage, envoyez-nous un courriel. Dites-nous ce qui vous a motivé à faire un don au Fonds de dotation ARTicipez et pourquoi les arts sont importants pour vous.

Informations pertinentes

Investissez dans votre communauté créative

Plus on le nourrit, plus il porte fruit

 

Les donateurs qui ont contribué au Fonds ARTicipez ont aidé à faire une différence dans leur communauté

 

Margaret Mead résume l'esprit de notre réalisation collective, « Ne doutez jamais qu'un petit groupe de citoyens engagés et résolus puisse changes le monde: en fait, c'est toujours ainsi que surviennent les changements