Establishing the Endowment Fund

The ARTicipate Endowment Fund

The Shenkman Arts Centre sign being installed

Since 2005, Arts Network Ottawa had been working closely with the City of Ottawa to develop a fundraising campaign for the Orléans Arts Centre, now the Shenkman Arts Centre. Arts Network became the leader of the fundraising campaign, and worked diligently and passionately to develop the ARTicipate Endowment Fund.

The government of Ontario confirmed its support to the Orléans Arts Centre and contributed $2.5 million in the spring of 2006. With the project fully funded through the P3 process, these funds would form the basis of an endowment fund. This Fund would support local artists and arts groups within the Centre.

The ARTicipate Community Campaign kicked off in 2007 with a $1 million donation from the Shenkman Family Foundation. The Orléans Arts Centre officially became Le Centre des Arts Shenkman Arts Centre. Both Salle Harold Shenkman Hall and the Centre itself pays tribute to the Shenkman family.

Since then, the ARTicipate campaign has successfully managed to raise close to $5 million. As the Endowment Fund continues to grow, so do the opportunities it will provide to the community.

Read more about ARTicipate Major Donors and see the Virtual Donor Wall.

Related Info

Make Art Accessible

The more it grows, the more it gives

“It’s been a long journey. The Shenkman Arts Centre, twenty years in the making, is a testament to an incredible amount of hard work by a lot of people who never gave up on the vision or the dream. Today, as a result, we have an amazing multidisciplinary arts centre where artists and community can come together. The ARTicipate Endowment Fund is AOE’s way of helping to support innovation and quality arts activities within the Centre for generations to come.”

  • Christine Tremblay, past Executive Director, AOE Arts Council.

Read more about the history of the ARTicipate Endowment Fund.

Création du Fonds de donation

Le Fonds de donation ARTicipez

Installation de l’enseigne du Centre des Arts ShenkmanDepuis 2005, le Réseau des arts d'Ottawa collaborait étroitement avec la Ville d’Ottawa pour lancer une campagne de financement pour le Centre des arts d’Orléans, maintenant appelé le Centre des Arts Shenkman. le Réseau des arts s’est vu confier les rênes de la campagne de financement, et a travaillé avec diligence et passion pour constituer le Fonds de dotation ARTicipez.

Au printemps 2006, le gouvernement de l’Ontario confirme son appui au Centre des arts d’Orléans et verse une somme de 2,5 millions de dollars. Comme le projet était entièrement financé au moyen du processus P3, cette somme allait constituer l’assise d’un Fonds de dotation voué à venir en aide aux artistes et aux groupes artistiques de la région œuvrant au Centre.

La Campagne communautaire ARTicipez a pris son essor en 2007 avec le don d’un million de dollars remis par la Fondation de la famille Shenkman. Le Centre des arts d’Orléans est alors officiellement devenu le Centre des Arts Shenkman. La Salle Harold Shenkman et le Centre lui-même constituent un hommage à la famille Shenkman.

Depuis ce temps, la campagne ARTicipez a réussi à recueillir près de cinq millions de dollars. Les possibilités offertes à la communauté continueront de croître au même rythme que le Fonds de dotation.

Cliquez sur les liens suivants pour en savoir davantage sur les donateurs majeurs d’ARTicipez et voir le mur virtuel des donateurs.

Informations pertinentes

Rendez l'art accessible

Plus on le nourrit, plus it porte fruit

« Le parcours a été long. Le Centre des Arts Shenkman, un projet entrepris il y a vingt ans, témoigne du travail acharné d’une foule de personnes qui n’ont jamais renoncé à leur vision ou à leur rêve. Grâce à eux, nous disposons aujourd’hui d’un superbe centre d’arts multidisciplinaires où se côtoient les artistes et la communauté. Pour l’AOE, le Fonds de dotation ARTicipez est un moyen de favoriser l’innovation et d’encourager les activités artistiques de qualité au Centre pour les générations à venir. »

  • Christine Tremblay, ancienne directrice générale, Conseil des arts AOE.

     

Pour en savoir plus sur l’histoire du Fonds de dotation ARTicipez