Chronology

Shenkman Arts Centre Chronology

The lower lobby of the Shenkman Arts Centre in construction

1980-2002 Arts Ottawa East, now Arts Network Ottawa, Ottawa residents, community groups and the arts community advocate for an arts centre in the East end. This centre would provide access to dynamic and bilingual arts programming, nurture artists and provide a space for expression and learning of art in all disciplines.

2002 Momentum for the project takes off when a needs assessment recommended the City of Ottawa build a single, modern, professional arts facility in the East end to provide performing, visual and media arts activities to the public.

2003 Ottawa City Council identifies the Orléans Arts Centre (now the Shenkman Arts Centre) as one of five immediate arts priorities in the City's new Ottawa 2020 Arts and Heritage Plan.

2004 A P3 (public-private partnership) strategy was developed. This strategy was refined with the input of East end arts groups.

2005-2007 Ottawa City Council approves the recommendation for a new facility in June 2005 and launches a search for a private-sector partner. After an extensive process, the partnership agreement between the City of Ottawa and the Orléans Town Centre Partnership concludes in April 2007.

2007 The City of Ottawa, supported by the Government of Ontario, approves the construction of the Shenkman Arts Centre on Centrum Boulevard and constructions starts later that year.

The Harold Shenkman Hall in the Shenkman Arts Centre Under Construction

2007 The centre is officially named the Centre des Arts Shenkman Arts Centre after the Shenkman Family Foundation donates $1 million to the ARTicipate Endowment Fund.

2009 The Shenkman Arts Centre officially opens on June 18, 2009.

 

Read about the Shenkman Arts Centre.

Related Info

Make Art Accessible

The more it grows, the more it gives

“It’s been a long journey. The Shenkman Arts Centre, twenty years in the making, is a testament to an incredible amount of hard work by a lot of people who never gave up on the vision or the dream. Today, as a result, we have an amazing multidisciplinary arts centre where artists and community can come together. The ARTicipate Endowment Fund is AOE’s way of helping to support innovation and quality arts activities within the Centre for generations to come.”

  • Christine Tremblay, past Executive Director, AOE Arts Council.

Read more about the history of the ARTicipate Endowment Fund.

Chronologie

Chronologie du Centre des Arts Shenkman

Le foyer inférieur du Centre des Arts Shenkman en construction1980-2002 Arts Ottawa East, maintenant devenu le Réseau des arts d'Ottawa, des citoyens d’Ottawa, des groupes communautaires et la communauté artistique réclament la création d’un centre des arts dans l’est de la ville. Ce centre offrirait une programmation artistique dynamique et bilingue, permettrait aux artistes de se développer et offrirait un espace d’expression et d’apprentissage de l’art dans toutes les disciplines.

2002 Le projet prend son élan lorsqu’à la lumière d’une évaluation des besoins, on recommande à la Ville d’Ottawa de construire un seul édifice moderne et professionnel dans le secteur est où l’on offrirait au public des activités liées aux arts de la scène, aux arts visuels et aux arts médiatiques.

2003 Dans son nouveau Plan pour les arts et le patrimoine Ottawa 20/20, le Conseil municipal d’Ottawa établit le Centre des arts d’Orléans (maintenant le Centre des Arts Shenkman) comme une de ses cinq priorités immédiates dans le secteur des arts.

2004 Une stratégie P3 (partenariat public-privé) est mise au point et ensuite peaufinée en fonction des commentaires de groupes artistiques de l’est de la ville.

2005-2007 En juin 2005, le Conseil municipal d’Ottawa approuve la recommandation de construire un nouvel édifice et se met à la recherche d’un partenaire public-privé. Une longue démarche mène à la conclusion d’une entente de partenariat entre la Ville d’Ottawa et le Partenariat du centre d’activité d’Orléans en avril 2007.

2007 La Ville d’Ottawa, avec l’appui du gouvernement de l’Ontario, approuve la construction du Centre des Arts Shenkman sur le boulevard Centrum et les travaux débutent un peu plus tard au cours de la même année.

La salle Harold-Shenkman du Centre des Arts Shenkman en construction

2007 Après un don d’un million de dollars remis par la Fondation de la famille Shenkman au Fonds de dotation ARTicipez, le Centre est officiellement nommé Centre des Arts Shenkman.

2009 Le Centre des Arts Shenkman ouvre officiellement ses portes le 18 juin 2009.

Pour en savoir plus sur le Centre des Arts Shenkman, consultez ce lien.

Informations pertinentes

Rendez l'art accessible

Plus on le nourrit, plus it porte fruit

« Le parcours a été long. Le Centre des Arts Shenkman, un projet entrepris il y a vingt ans, témoigne du travail acharné d’une foule de personnes qui n’ont jamais renoncé à leur vision ou à leur rêve. Grâce à eux, nous disposons aujourd’hui d’un superbe centre d’arts multidisciplinaires où se côtoient les artistes et la communauté. Pour l’AOE, le Fonds de dotation ARTicipez est un moyen de favoriser l’innovation et d’encourager les activités artistiques de qualité au Centre pour les générations à venir. »

  • Christine Tremblay, ancienne directrice générale, Conseil des arts AOE.

     

Pour en savoir plus sur l’histoire du Fonds de dotation ARTicipez