History

Arts Network Ottawa (formerly: AOE Arts Council): Founder and Leader of the ARTicipate Endowment Fund

Arts Network Ottawa decided in 2007 to build an Endowment Fund to support artistic activity in the new Shenkman Arts Centre. Arts Network took on this task for one simple reason: to help sustain the arts in Ottawa. That decision has brought the community together in ways Arts Network never expected.

With the building of a new multi-disiplinary arts centre in Orléans, Arts Networksought a sustainable option to support the artists that would use this centre. Arts Network realized that a magnificent building, while a work of art in itself, would not be enough. “It is the audiences, the artistic activity that takes place in and around it that will truly make it a centre for the arts,” said Christine Tremblay, Executive Director of Arts Network. Arts Network felt a responsibility to ensure that financial resources would be available to nurture and inspire that artistic vision.

Christine Tremblay in the almost completed Shenkman Arts Centre

Arts Network's move into the Shenkman Arts Centre gave the ARTicipate Campaign momentum. The community answered the call for support with donations of all sizes. Also, many purchased naming opportunities within the Centre and seat sales in the Harold Shenkman Hall.

The generous support from the community has made the ARTicipate Endowment Fund success. That is why Arts Network has invested funds, countless volunteer and staff hours, along with their heart and soul into this initiative.

The business community, organizations, individuals, families, artists and arts groups all answered the call from Arts Network staff, board members, the ARTicipate cabinet and volunteer Community Ambassadors to donate and help build this Fund.

We thank all of these contributors for their support!

Related Info

Make Art Accessible

The more it grows, the more it gives

“It’s been a long journey. The Shenkman Arts Centre, twenty years in the making, is a testament to an incredible amount of hard work by a lot of people who never gave up on the vision or the dream. Today, as a result, we have an amazing multidisciplinary arts centre where artists and community can come together. The ARTicipate Endowment Fund is AOE’s way of helping to support innovation and quality arts activities within the Centre for generations to come.”

  • Christine Tremblay, past Executive Director, AOE Arts Council.

Read more about the history of the ARTicipate Endowment Fund.

Historique

Le Conseil des arts AOE : Fondateur et porte-parole du Fonds de dotation ARTicipez

En 2007, le Conseil des arts AOE a décidé de créer un Fonds de dotation pour appuyer les activités artistiques au nouveau Centre des Arts Shenkman. L’unique motif du Conseil était de favoriser l’épanouissement des arts à Ottawa. Cette décision a suscité dans la communauté une mobilisation à laquelle ne s’attendait pas du tout l’AOE.

Avec la construction à Orléans d’un nouveau centre des arts multidisciplinaires, le Conseil des arts AOE cherchait une solution durable pour appuyer les artistes qui viendraient y pratiquer leur art. Il a constaté que la présence d’un édifice magnifique, une œuvre d’art en soi, ne suffisait pas. « Ce qui en fera un véritable centre d’arts, ce sont les utilisateurs et les activités artistiques présentées » affirme Christine Tremblay, directrice générale d’AOE. Le Conseil estimait qu’il était responsable d’assurer la disponibilité de ressources financières pour alimenter et inspirer cette vision artistique.

Christine Tremblay dans le Centre des Arts Shenkman presque achevé

Le déménagement d’AOE au Centre des Arts Shenkman a donné son élan à la campagne ARTicipez. La communauté a répondu à l’appel par des dons de toute proportion. On a également vendu de nombreux espaces publicitaires dans le Centre et des sièges de la Salle Harold Shenkman.

Le généreux appui de la communauté a mené au succès du Fonds de dotation ARTicipez. C’est pourquoi le Conseil des arts AOE a investi des fonds, les bénévoles et le personnel ont consacré d’innombrables heures de travail, et toutes les personnes engagées dans cette initiative s’y sont lancées corps et âme.

Le milieu des affaires, les organismes, les particuliers, les familles, les artistes et les groupes artistiques, ont tous répondu à l’appel. Ce dernier était lancé par le personnel de l’AOE, les membres de son conseil d’administration, le cabinet de la campagne ARTicipez et les ambassadeurs communautaires bénévoles ont fait des dons qui ont permis la création de ce fonds.

Nous remercions tous ces collaborateurs de leur précieuse aide!

Informations pertinentes

Rendez l'art accessible

Plus on le nourrit, plus it porte fruit

« Le parcours a été long. Le Centre des Arts Shenkman, un projet entrepris il y a vingt ans, témoigne du travail acharné d’une foule de personnes qui n’ont jamais renoncé à leur vision ou à leur rêve. Grâce à eux, nous disposons aujourd’hui d’un superbe centre d’arts multidisciplinaires où se côtoient les artistes et la communauté. Pour l’AOE, le Fonds de dotation ARTicipez est un moyen de favoriser l’innovation et d’encourager les activités artistiques de qualité au Centre pour les générations à venir. »

  • Christine Tremblay, ancienne directrice générale, Conseil des arts AOE.

     

Pour en savoir plus sur l’histoire du Fonds de dotation ARTicipez