About Us FAQ

What is an Endowment Fund?

An Endowment Fund is a secure investment that generates interest. Only the interest that is earned is spent on a designated purpose. This can provide an ongoing source of funds while protecting a donor’s investment.

What is the goal of the ARTicipate Endowment Fund?

The ARTicipate Endowment Fund enhances artistic activity at the Shenkman Arts Centre. The Fund distributes grants to support high quality artistic activities of all disciplines. Grants are awarded to local artists and arts organizations that will be presenting or exhibiting their work in the Centre.

How will the ARTicipate Endowment Fund provide long-term funding and support for the arts?

The ARTicipate Endowment Fund is a secure financial investment. It provides long-term funding because only the interest earned on the Fund is spent. The sum of the Fund is untouched. The interest earned from the Fund is distributed each year through grants to the artists, organizations and the resident arts partners of the Centre.

Does the existence of the Endowment Fund mean there will be a reduction on the City of Ottawa’s arts funding?

The ARTicipate Endowment Fund is a separate source of private funds and will not affect the City of Ottawa’s arts funding program. The City responds independently to applications it receives for arts and culture funding.

Who will benefit from the ARTicipate Endowment Fund?

The community as audiences, learners and participants at the Centre are the biggest benefactor of the ARTicipate Endowment Fund. They benefit from increased programming and arts activities at the Centre. As well, the arts community and the Resident Arts Partners of the Centre will benefit from access to funding through the ARTicipate Grant Program. Conversely, this will support Partners’ programming in the Centre.

Who manages the Fund’s investments?

The City of Ottawa’s Treasurer is charged with safeguarding the Fund. The Fund is held in a specially designated reserve fund. The investment follows the City of Ottawa’s investment policies. The City has not regards or access to this reserve fund. It is allocated by AOE.

Will every City of Ottawa art facility have an Endowment Fund?

Potentially. However, the ARTicipate Endowment Fund is currently specific to the Shenkman Arts Centre.


Where did the funds from for the Endowment Fund come from?

The funds were raised from many private and corporate donors in the community, as well as from the Government of Ontario. For a full list of our donors, see the Virtual Donor Wall.

Related Info

Make Art Accessible

The more it grows, the more it gives

“It’s been a long journey. The Shenkman Arts Centre, twenty years in the making, is a testament to an incredible amount of hard work by a lot of people who never gave up on the vision or the dream. Today, as a result, we have an amazing multidisciplinary arts centre where artists and community can come together. The ARTicipate Endowment Fund is AOE’s way of helping to support innovation and quality arts activities within the Centre for generations to come.”

  • Christine Tremblay, past Executive Director, AOE Arts Council.

Read more about the history of the ARTicipate Endowment Fund.

FAQ Qui nous sommes

Qu’est-ce qu’un Fonds de dotation?

Un Fonds de dotation est un investissement sûr qui produit des revenus d’intérêts. Seuls les revenus d’intérêt sont utilisés pour une fin précise. Un tel investissement peut constituer une source permanente de fonds tout en protégeant le capital offert par le donateur.

Quel est l’objectif du Fonds de dotation ARTicipez?

Le Fonds de dotation ARTicipez permet d’offrir plus d’activités artistiques au Centre des Arts Shenkman. Le Fonds distribue des subventions pour soutenir les activités artistiques de qualité dans toutes les disciplines. Des subventions sont accordées aux artistes et aux organismes de création artistique de la région qui se produiront ou qui exposeront leurs travaux au Centre.

Comment le Fonds de dotation ARTicipez assurera-t-il un financement et un soutien à long terme dans le domaine des arts?

Le Fonds de dotation ARTicipez est un investissement sûr. Il est ainsi possible d’offrir un financement à long terme parce que seuls les revenus d’intérêt générés par le Fonds sont utilisés. Le capital demeure intouché. Chaque année, les revenus d’intérêts générés par le Fonds sont distribués aux artistes, aux organismes et aux partenaires artistiques résidents du Centre.

L’avènement du Fonds de dotation signifie-t-il que la Ville d’Ottawa va réduire le financement qu’elle consacre aux arts?

Le Fonds de dotation ARTicipez constitue une source de fonds privée distincte qui n’aura aucune incidence sur le programme de financement des arts de la Ville d’Ottawa. La Ville répond de façon indépendante aux demandes de financement qui lui sont adressées pour les arts et la culture.


Qui bénéficiera du Fonds de dotation ARTicipez?

La clientèle, les apprentis et les participants aux programmes du Centre sont les principaux bénéficiaires du Fonds de dotation ARTicipez. Ils profitent d’un plus grand nombre de programmes et d’activités artistiques offerts au Centre. De même, la communauté artistique et les partenaires artistiques résidents du Centre bénéficieront d’un accès au financement offert par le Programme de subventions ARTicipez. Par conséquent, les partenaires artistiques résidents du Centre obtiendront un appui pour leur programmation.

Qui administre les investissements du Fonds?

La garde du Fonds sera confiée à la trésorière de la Ville d’Ottawa. Le capital est déposé dans un fonds de réserve particulier. L’investissement est conforme aux politiques de la Ville d’Ottawa en la matière. La Ville n’a aucun droit de regard ou d’accès à ce fonds de réserve. AOE se charge de l’allocation des subventions.

Est-ce que chaque établissement du milieu artistique de la Ville d’Ottawa pourra disposer d’un Fonds de dotation?

C’est possible. Cependant, le Fonds de dotation ARTicipez est actuellement associé au Centre des Arts Shenkman.

D’où proviennent les fonds du Fonds de dotation?

Les fonds proviennent de nombreux donateurs privés et d’entreprises de la communauté, ainsi que du gouvernement de l’Ontario. Pour obtenir une liste complète de nos donateurs, consultez le mur virtuel des donateurs.

Informations pertinentes

Rendez l'art accessible

Plus on le nourrit, plus it porte fruit

« Le parcours a été long. Le Centre des Arts Shenkman, un projet entrepris il y a vingt ans, témoigne du travail acharné d’une foule de personnes qui n’ont jamais renoncé à leur vision ou à leur rêve. Grâce à eux, nous disposons aujourd’hui d’un superbe centre d’arts multidisciplinaires où se côtoient les artistes et la communauté. Pour l’AOE, le Fonds de dotation ARTicipez est un moyen de favoriser l’innovation et d’encourager les activités artistiques de qualité au Centre pour les générations à venir. »

  • Christine Tremblay, ancienne directrice générale, Conseil des arts AOE.

    Christine Tremblay sur le Fonds de dotation ARTicipez

Pour en savoir plus sur l’histoire du Fonds de dotation ARTicipez